Home   About   CCSE History

CCSE History

In 1992, Alderman Fred Roti appointed Gene Lee to be the Chairperson of the Chinatown Summer Fair(Chinatown Special Events Committee)and Chinese Consolidated Benevolent Association/Chinese Community Center as the lead/sponsoring organization to replace the rotation system of Chinese American Civic Council, American Legion Chinatown Post 1003 and Chicago Chinatown Chamber of Commerce.

Chinatown Special Events Committee is a volunteer group coordinating and producing the Annual Chinatown Lunar New Year Parade, Chinatown Summer Fair and Double Ten Parade with the Chinese Consolidated Benevolent Association/ Taipei Economic Cultural Office Chicago.

In the fall of 2008, 25th Ward Alderman, Danny S. Solis announced his support for the Chicago Chinatown Special Events Committee, as an independent organization responsible for the Annual Chinatown Lunar New Year Parade and Annual Chinatown Summer Fair to be non-political without national flags except the USA flag. This was based on numerous inquires/complaints on why the City of Chicago would continue to support the CCBA/TECOC when the Peoples Republic of China is officially recongnized by U.S. Government and United Nations. Both Chinatown Lunar New Year Parade and Chinatown Summer Fair are community events/celebrations merged with the Chicago Chinatown Community Foundation in 2014, also sponsor for Chinatown Chamber Dragon Boat Race and Miss Friendship Ambassador Gala.

Chinatown Special Events Advisory Council members: American And Asian Association, Chicago Chinatown Chamber of Commerce, Chinese American Association of Greater Chicago, Chinese Consolidated Benevolent Association, Chinese Entrepreneur Organization, Chicago Dragons Athletic Association, Chinatown American Legion Post #1003, Chinese American Civic Council, Chinese American Service League, Chinese Christian Union Church, St. Therese Chinese Catholic Church, Chinese-American Museum of Chicago.

Chicago Chinatown Special Events, is managed by a volunteer board: Anita Lau and Tim Brenmark – ┬áCo-Chairs, John Ng – Secretary, Thomas “TJ” Moy – Treasurer, Michael Hon – Director.

CCSE Volunteer members: Gene Lee – Founder, Arthur “Buddha” Eng, Nick McBride, Tony “Hard Guy” Yu, Henry “Spider” Yue, William “Fu” Yue, Virginia Lai, Maxine Lau, Elisa Chiu, Waiky Lau, Henry Lai. Henry Ma, Ken Moy, Victor “Face” Mui, Vincent “Bo” Lee, Michael Wu, William Ng, Anthony Huang, Alex Khong, Jason Zheng, Zilin Ruan and Eric Liang.